Peter Newsom

Hunter’s Bend Elementary Needs Soccer Nets. Please Help!

In Franklin, Tennessee on September 25, 2007 at 4:57 pm

soccernetjpeg.jpg

Believe me. Playing soccer without nets is not so fun. Half the time, you can’t even tell if someone scored a goal.

And as long as I’ve been going to school at Hunter’s Bend Elementary School, we’ve never had nets for our two soccer goals. If we had soccer goal nets, a lot more kids would play soccer at recess – and that’s a lot better than climbing up and down the tether ball pole (the one without the tether ball).

Oh yeah, besides not having any nets, one of our soccer goals doesn’t have the long bar that goes on the back of the goal. I measured it, with my dad’s help, and the missing bar is about 12 feet long. My dad said we would also need a joint sleeve (I think he made up that word) to make the bar connect with the rest of the goal. One other thing we’ll need is a bunch of long plastic ties to attach the net to the goal. The name of the company on the goal is American Playground. We went to their web site and found out that they don’t sell 12 by 6 foot goals any more. But they do sell the nets that go with them. This is a link to the page where they sell them >

http://www.highperformancesoccer.com/SoccerGoalNets.htm

It looks like the nets will cost us $154.00 each – and we need two. My dad said he would call them and ask if they have spare parts for goals. I’ll update the web site and tell you what I found

Starting today, I’m going to do whatever I can to repair our soccer goal and get a couple of nets.

When I’m done with that, I’m going to see if somebody has a big machine to make our field smooth. Right now, it’s full of holes and bumps and even some hills. We need one of these things (see below) – and somebody who knows how to drive it!

machinery2jpeg.jpg

  1. I’ll help as soon as I can.:-{)

Leave a Reply

