Peter Newsom

Did I Mention I Saw Freddy Adu, During Spring Break?

In Favorite Soccer Players, Favorite Soccer Teams on March 23, 2008 at 9:27 pm

concacaf1.jpg

concacaf2.jpg

During Spring Break, I watched 8 hours of professional soccer – against four International teams – and NO, I wasn’t on the couch with a remote in my hand.

Nope. I was at the 2008 CONCACAF Championship, held at Nashville’s LP Field. This is the tournament where they decide which two teams get to compete at the Beijing Summer Olympics. And I was so close to the action that I could have hit Freddy Adu in the head with a Skittle!

But I wasn’t the only one there, there were 13,000 other maniac soccer fans from Honduras, Guatemala, Canada and the U.S. Oh yeah, there was my Mom, too. She isn’t a maniac, yet, but I think I’m sending her in that direction. Wish me luck!

The games were so cool I can’t even explain it. There were people from all these countries – all cheering for their own teams. It was like something you see on TV – except it’s right in front of you. Flags from other countries. Cheers and songs in different languages. Drums beating and painted faces. It was really fun to watch.

So what’s CONCACAF? Well, it stands for The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football.

Short story: It’s about 40 countries, in North and Central America – even including a bunch of those tiny “island countries” in the Caribbean. All these countries do battle – to see which two get to go to the Olympics. And, no, Jack Sparrow was not on one of the Caribbean teams. Aaaargh.

THE BEST NEWS: USA was one of the two winners – selected to go to the Olympic Football Tournament in Beijing in 2008!!!

  1. I cant believe you were there. My family couldn’t get tickets. [aw man]!See you at school.
    Your teammate,
    Jacob

Leave a Reply

